



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

media contact

Kira Kvamme 503.721.7477 x18 kkvamme@goSportsOne.com

CHIP KELLY, MEGAN RAPINOE AND JACOBY ELLSBURY AMONG 80 FINALISTS FOR THE 2011 OREGON SPORTS AWARDS FEBRUARY 12, 2012

Nike to Host Award Show Honoring the State's Best Performers and Performances of 2011

PORTLAND, Ore. (January 30, 2012) – The Oregon Sports Awards announced today the 2011 finalists. A statewide voting panel comprised of nearly 200 television, radio and print media and other respected sports professionals from across the state narrowed the field of nominees to nearly 80 deserving finalists. The winners will be revealed live on the Stanford Theatre stage at the Nike World Headquarters during the 60th Oregon Sports Awards February 12, 2012.

SportsOne and Nike, two Beaverton area-based companies rooted deeply in Oregon sports have coproduced the Oregon Sports Awards for more than a decade. A fast-paced, entertaining stage show similar in style to ESPN's ESPY Awards, the Oregon Sports Awards features a who's-who-in-Oregon-sports attendance list plus an illustrious group of award winners and presenters.

Here are the 2011 Oregon Sports Awards finalists:

Ad Rutschman Small-College Athlete of the Year – Female

- Stacie Doucette | Linfield College | Softball
- Jackie Imhof | Oregon Institute of Technology | Softball
- Irene Johnson | George Fox University | Track + field
- Emilee Lepp | Linfield College | Softball
- Kayla Xavier | Concordia University | Track + field

Ad Rutschman Small-College Athlete of the Year - Male

- Drew Fisher | Linfield College | Football
- Joseph Foster | Oregon Institute of Technology | Basketball
- Robbie Haynie | Eastern Oregon University | Track + field
- Bryant Sentman | Oregon Institute of Technology | Basketball track + field
- Tim Wilson | Linfield College | Basketball

Slats Gill Sportsperson of the Year

- Nigel Burton | Portland State University | Football
- Steve Coury | Lake Oswego High School | Football
- Chip Kelly | University of Oregon | Football
- Merritt Paulson | Portland Timbers | Soccer
- Jackson Vaughan | Linfield College | Softball

Nike - Steve Prefontaine Prep Distance Runner of the Year

- Jackson Baker | Franklin High School | Cross country
- Alex Dillard | The Dalles Wahtonka High School | Cross country
- Brian Eimstad | South Eugene High School | Cross country
- Megan Fristoe | Summit High School | Cross country
- Ashley Maton | Summit High School | Cross country

Johnny Carpenter Prep Athlete of the Year 4A/3A/2A/1A – Female

- Sara Almen | Santiam Christian High School | Volleyball track + field
- Sarah Bennion | St. Mary's High School | Track + field cross country soccer
- Maddye Dinsmore | Burns High School | Volleyball basketball track + field
- Kristan Holding | Damascus Christian High School | Track + field volleyball
- Whitney Koehnke | Regis High School | Softball volleyball basketball
- Makayla Lindburg | Crook County High School | Volleyball
- Brittney Niebergall | La Salle Prep | Basketball softball
- Alexa Skinner | Glide High School | Softball

Johnny Carpenter Prep Athlete of the Year 4A/3A/2A/1A - Male

- Zac Cardwell | Lowell High School | Wrestling football
- Oshay Dunmore | Newport High School | Track + field football
- AJ Hedgecock | Dayton High School | basketball football track + field
- Jeff Hendrix | Santiam Christian High School | Football baseball basketball
- Quinn Johnston | Gold Beach High School | Wrestling football
- Tanner Omlid | Central High School | Basketball football baseball
- Jordan Tebbutt | Horizon Christian High School | Basketball
- Alex Young | Phoenix High School | Basketball

Harry Glickman Professional Athlete of the Year - Female

- Stephanie Cox | Soccer
- Shalane Flanagan | Track + field
- Kara Goucher | Track + field
- Megan Rapinoe | Soccer
- Mariel Zagunis | Fencing

Harry Glickman Professional Athlete of the Year - Male

- Ashton Eaton | Track + field
- Jacoby Ellsbury | Baseball
- Kevin Love | Basketball
- Galen Rupp | Track + field
- Ndamukong Suh | Football

Johnny Carpenter Prep Athlete of the Year 6A/5A - Female

- Martenne Bettendorf | Central Catholic High School | Volleyball
- Kaylin Bing | Roseburg High School | Swimming
- Elizabeth Brenner | Jesuit High School | Basketball track + field volleyball
- Megan Fristoe | Summitt High School | Cross country track + field
- Taylor Lakey | Southridge High School | Swimming
- Anna-Marie Popma | Tualatin High School | Soccer
- Jen Reese | Clackamas High School | Basketball
- Mercedes Russell | Springfield High School | Basketball

Johnny Carpenter Prep Athlete of the Year 6A/5A - Male

- Brett Bafaro | Liberty High School | Baseball football
- Ryan Crouser | Barlow High School | Track + field
- Jake Ehlers | Corvallis High School | Basketball
- Steven Long | Lake Oswego High School | Football
- Mikey Rodriguez | Hillsboro High School | Wrestling
- Brennan Scarlett | Central Catholic High School | Basketball track + field football swimming
- Thomas Tyner | Aloha High School | Track + field football
- Kyle Wiltjer | Jesuit High School | Basketball

Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year – Female

- Jordan Hasay | University of Oregon | Track + field cross country
- Eryn Jones | Portland State University | Basketball
- Leslie Mak | Oregon State University | Gymnastics
- Shoni Schimmel | University of Louisville | Basketball
- Brianne Theisen | University of Oregon | Track + field

Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year – Male

- Matthew Centrowitz | University of Oregon | Track + field
- LaMichael James | University of Oregon | Football
- Terrence Jones | University of Kentucky | Basketball
- Connor Kavanaugh | Portland State university | Football
- Kyle Singler | Duke University | Basketball

Recipients of seven additional Oregon Sports Awards will be chosen February 12:

- Terry Porter make it better Award
- Les Schwab Friend of Sports Award
- Lou Burge Special Olympics Athlete of the Year
- Game Changer Award for lifetime dedication to high school sports
- Ultimate Fan Award
- George Pasero Teams of the Year
- DNA Award

Website

oregonsportsawards.com

Tickets

Tickets are available for \$50 each. To purchase, please contact Chelsea Corrado of SportsOne at 503.721.7477 x24 or ccorrado@goSportsOne.com.

Media passes + media kit

For media passes and/or a media kit, please contact Kira Kvamme of SportsOne at 503.721.7477 x18 or kkvamme@goSportsOne.com.

About the Oregon Sports Awards

Originally the Hayward Banquet of Champions, the Oregon Sports Awards began in 1948 to honor Oregon's outstanding professional and amateur athletes, teams, coaches and administrators from many levels and a wide range of sports.

Oregon Sports Awards Finalists, 4

In 2001, Nike, the Portland Tribune and Oregon-based sports marketing and entertainment agency SportsOne revived the event under its current name to include a stage-show, additional award categories and a new venue—the state-of-the-art, 770-seat Stanford Theatre at the Nike World Headquarters in Beaverton, Ore.

About SportsOne

SportsOne is a national sports and entertainment marketing agency based in Beaverton, Ore. Now in its 17th season, SportsOne teams with Safeway, Nike, Oregon Track Club and other clients to produce powerful fan experiences, golf and basketball tournaments, awards shows, concerts and custom corporate entertainment. The SportsOne roster includes the Safeway Game Day Experience tour and TrackTown12 at the U.S. Olympic Team Trials – Track & Field. GoSportsOne.com.

###